NEWS about the Brockville Country Club (BCC)! News for MEMBERS! News for THE WORLD! The BCC is a year-round facility providing a scenic, beautifully maintained, challenging-but-fair, 18 hole, par 72 GOLF COURSE. The six-sheet CURLING facility with its JET ice is the best in the area. BANQUETS, large (to over 400 people) and small, handled with ease. Tournaments, Bonspiels, Wedding Receptions! Blog here often for NEWS of interest to Members & the General Community at Large.

Friday, September 26, 2014

The 18th Edition of the "Shorty" a Huge Success

The Brockville Country Club hosted the AMJ Campbell Shorty Jenkins Curling Classic, presented by VIA Rail, September 18 - 21, 2014. A super field of curlers played to large crowds. Twenty four men's and 12 ladies' teams participated bringing the best curlers in the world to the BCC. The Epping, Gushue, Stoughton, Howard, Muirhead, Homan, Murdoch, Middaugh, Edin teams competed including last year's Shorty winner and Canada's Olympic Gold Medal winners; the Jacobs team. From Canada, Scotland, Sweden and Switzerland, they descended on Brockville and the BCC.
In the ladies section, Muirhead got by Homan to advance and Middaugh got by Hastings. The ladies final saw Middaugh; winners in 2011, come through to take the 2014 ladies crown. In the men's division, Jacobs got by Bowser, Epping by Gushue, Howard by Stoughton and Casey got by Murdock. Jacobs then advance past Epping and Casey past Howard to set up the final. And again last year's champs and Olympic medalists, the Jacobs team, won the 2014 Shorty Jenkins Classic.
Congratulations to Gord McCrady Jr. and his team of Charlie Brady, Norm Saunders, Ara Papertzian, Wayne Gallinger, Bill Kyle, Lois Kaddatz, Jon Wall (of Wall2Wall Ice), Don Nielson and Ginger Dalock for organizing such a great event.
And Congratulations to the Jacobs and Middaugh teams for winning the 2014 Shorty Jenkins Curling Classic.

Brooke Henderson Plays Charity at The BCC

On Saturday, September 23, 2014, the Brockville Country Club was pleased to host Brooke Henderson, the #1 rated female amateur golfer in the world, as she played in a 9-hole charity match. The match, for the St. John Ambulance capital campaign, was organized by Dave Dargie, campaign chair, who played with Brooke and 94-year-old John Williams and Pat Markovich who won her spot in a draw.
Approximately 75 members, guests and the media followed Brooke and her playing partners around the course for the 9 holes. Three lucky juniors, Sarah Cushing, Gavin White and Owen Webster, were able to carry Brooke's golf bag for three holes each. Imagine, they can say they caddied for Brooke Henderson. Brooke's mother and grandmother were also in the entourage.
It was a great day for a good cause and a real pleasure to see Brooke play at the Brockville Country Club.

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

BCC Ladies Play Intersectional at Outaouais

On Monday, September 15, 2014 our Brockville Country Club Senior Ladies Intersectional Team played their match at the Outaouais Golf Club in Rockland. They report it was lovely weather and a wonderful day ... but ran up against stiff competition and finished in fourth place in the "C" divison. The four clubs included host club Outaouais (28 pts); Rideau View (23 pts), GreyHawk (19 pts) and Brockville (14 pts).
Our ladies team was composed of (l to r): Heather Morgan, Marsha Lindsay, Gay Mailloux (alternate), Susan Blanchard, Sharon Ellis, Teri DeLuis, Kellie Howe, Cathy Townsend and Sandi Stewart (coach & cheerleader).
The girls would like to thank Sharon Ellis for getting the team together through tryouts and practices. Also to Teri who won all 3 of her matches and to Marsha for winning 2 of 3.
Congratulations to all our BCC Senior Ladies Intersectional team members for representing the Brockville Country Club at the Intersectionals.

Monday, September 15, 2014

Reinhart wins Flagstick BCC Open, Adam Folco Places 3rd

The 2014 edition of the Flagstick BCC Open was played at the Brockville Country Club Saturday and Sunday September 13 & 14, 2014. All players endured a first round marred by wet, cold weather that flooded the golf course and stopped play on Saturday. Play resumed Sunday morning under much drier but still frigid temperatures.

Through it all, Dwight Reinhart of the Arnprior Golf Club won the 36 hole event posting rounds of 75 and 70 to nip Kingston junior Noah Steele by a single stroke. Reinhart birdied the last hole and shot four under par on the closing 9 holes to take the win. Tied for third place was BCC's Adam Folco and Joe Matthews of Smugglers's Glen.
BCC Pro Derek MacDonald is seen presenting the Flagstick BCC Open Stanley Thompson Trophy to Dwight Reinhart in photo above.

The Flagstick BCC Open is the third of the BMG Cup Series, the other two being the Flagstick Shootout at Smugglers and the Flagstick Open at eQuinelle. Overall 2014 winner of the BMG Cup is Allen McGee who tied for 8th at the BCC Open, tied for 4th at the Flagstick Shootout and won the Flagstick Open an eQuinelle.
Flagstick Magazine President/Group Publisher Jeff Bauder presents the BMG Cup Series trophy to overall winner Allen McGee.

The Flagstick BCC Open at the Brockville Country Club is a major event and all BCC staff are to be commended for hosting a great tournament in difficult circumstances. The photo below gives an indication of the weather conditions as the "team" discusses how to handle events Saturday afternoon.

Tuesday, September 2, 2014

BCC Hosts Men's Senior OVGA Inersectionals

Brockville, September 2, 2014 - The Brockville Country Club hosted the OVGA Men's Senior "F" division Tuesday in a mix of weather that ended in rain. With home advantage, the BCC team came out on top with 49 points. Greyhawk came second (32 points); Glengarry third (20 points) and GlenMar fourth with 19 points. With the win Brockville moves up a division next year and Greyhawk, coming second hosts the "F" division.
Accepting the winner's plaque from OVGA director Jim Crawford is Ray Lunsden, BCC's team captain. Members of the BCC team, with points earned in brackets, are: Paul Sloan (4), Earl Benson (4), Ron Smith (6), Brian Baker (6), Klyde Brayton (6), Ardis Lindsay (4), Dave Dargie (4), Ray Lumsden (4), Chris Boyd (6) and Dale Robertson (5). Brian McRobie was BCC's alternate.
CONGRATULATIONS BCC team for a job well done.